Zildjian A Custom experts, give me your opinion!

deluxe74

Hello, I've been drumming for about 12 years and have been using A customs for about 5 years, and I've had a 17 in crash and 20 in ride for about 5 years and a 16 in for about 3 years. Recently the 16 in cracked and I don't know which cymbal to get. I love my 17 inch crash , but I want an 18 or 19 crash in that sounds brighter than the 17. So my question is what is the difference between a normal crash, projection crash and fast crash? If anyone can help me out, thanks alot!!

michiganice91

Fast Crash = Paper Thin | Crash = Thin | Projection Crash = Medium Thin

________THIN__________THICKER____________THICKEST

deluxe74

michiganice91":3jfjzw7g said:

Thanks alot, so does that ultimately mean that the Fast crashes will crack more easily?

iatemygoat

deluxe74":2cue559y said:
michiganice91":2cue559y said:

Thanks alot, so does that ultimately mean that the Fast crashes will crack more easily?
in my opinion no. thicker cymbals are more likely to crack.

stump

iatemygoat":s9142hfu said:
deluxe74":s9142hfu said:
michiganice91":s9142hfu said:

Very correct! Your thicker cast cymbals for the most part take a beating but if you are a very heavy hitter be prepared for them to crack sooner. Hard hitters go with thin/med thin cymbals.

drummert2k

i have the 19 inch projection crash and LOVE it! as far as cymbals go, the thickness does have a lot to do with crashing. but also the pitch. remember that no matter what the size of the cymbal, thin cymbals have a lower pitch than thicker ones. so also take that into consideration when looking for your next cymbal.

iatemygoat

drummert2k":3nxv6g9e said:
i have the 19 inch projection crash and LOVE it! as far as cymbals go, the thickness does have a lot to do with crashing. but also the pitch. remember that no matter what the size of the cymbal, thin cymbals have a lower pitch than thicker ones. so also take that into consideration when looking for your next cymbal.