Wow, I really need help choosing, open for suggestions.

gizmandermez

Hello, I'm new to this site.

I have been druming for almost three years, and by now I'm an intermidiate drummer with some skill and I need to find a good kit, preferably 6 to 8 peices. ( I'm reffering to drums when I say peices, not including stands)

Now, I have a Pearl Export series kit, 5 pieces with the black rims and wine red finish, and a Gretsch 6 piece Catalina kit, which is the blue one.
The Gretsch is fairly new, as I got it for my birthday and I am not digging it.

Soo... I need to find a 6 to 8 piece kit for $1000 to $1200.
Oh, and I am from Connecticut so if anybody can tell me any good stores around there or online, that would be much appreciated.

PaulZILLA

musiciansfriend sells a 7pc double bass Pacific kit by dw. it comews with hardware and everything, its birch. sounds insane. and all for 999.99. i highly recomend it. great kit. only thing you need is cymbals.

AngryGandhi

im from connecticut too... there are a few stores worth checking out:

Daddy's Junky Music (near the Westfarms mall) - not great selection, but it's worth a look if you don't live too far away

Guitar Center (Manchester, near the Buckland Hills mall) - pretty good prices, decent selection

Sam Ash (New Haven) - ive never been there yet but i hear they have a decent selection

Dynamic Percussion (Manchester) - highly recommend this place. they know what theyre talking about, and they have by far the best selection out of the stores i know. theyre very friendly too... they also have 4 full time teachers if you need lessons

Sway

Uhh i know that Mapex makes M Birch drums in a seven piece for like 12 and if you get another bass its not much more. I would recommend saving up at least 2 grand before you buy. Just a really good 5 piece is going to be like 1500. I have a M Birch though and it sounds really good and there very durable.

gizmandermez