Women drummers

FelterSkelter

It's pretty clear that most people recognize that Meg White is a woman and a drummer, but many of you (myself NOT included) think she isn't a very good drummer, if at all.
Let's name who is a good female drummer.

I nominate drummer/percussionist Ruth Underwood. I saw footage of Ruth with Zappa on The Dub Room Special DVD and it blew me away. I know she doesn't really play kit, but she sets that marimba on FIRE!

FelterSkelter

Nice....Nice

I must also add Terri Lynn Carrington. I had the pleasure of setting up her kit not once but twice when I was a backline tech. The first time I was way off because I had nothing to go by.
The second time, the stage manager didn't recognize me from the last show (not surprising) and was amazed when he walked in and the setup was near perfect.
She's played with the Arsenio Hall house band, Miles Davis, and most recently Cassandra Wilson.

screamkevin

Some of my faves...

-Torry Castellano (The Donnas)
-Cindy Blackman (Lenny Kravitz)
-Hillary Jones (Tribal Tech)
-Kim Thompson (Beyonce)
-Sheila E.
-Stefanie Eulinberg (Kid Rock)

Gaddabout

Shiela E is a monster drummer. Her father was Pete Escovedo, a legendary percussionist, and studied some with Billy Cobham.

I would put Terri Lynn Carrington up against any of the male chopmonsters we discuss. She's a world-class drummer with no limitations.

Hillary Jones is another really good drummer, more in the groove category.

Kim Thompson is a little unheralded in spite of her great talent. I think she's currently supporting Beyonce, but she's got great jazz chops. She's recorded with Mike Stern and Kenny Baron, among others.

Flatliner

Cindy Blackman by far is my favorite female drummer when she is playing her solo music and probably my least favorite drummer of all time when she plays Lenny Kravitz's music.

Sheila E. is also a monster player.

Hillary jones would round out my top 3 with the tribal tech stuff, its just insane music.

Rockula!