Will learning jazz make me a better rock drummer?

jw11

I am attempting to become a rock drummer. Problem: my teacher makes all his students learn jazz, which I really don't like. Will learning jazz make me a better rock drummer? Or will it be a waste of time?

Any opinions?

ganeshgiri

Yes, it will. I studied jazz extensively, and now all I play is rock. The independence exercises are very useful! To me, not doing what your teacher asks is like going to the doctor and telling him how to fix you. What's the point? You don't have to listen to a lot of jazz to study it's techniques, although I strongly suggest you do, just to open your perspective a little. There are some badass drummers in jazz, like Tony Williams, Art Blakey, and Max Roach. Some great newer jazz drummers to check out are Tain Watts, Steve Gadd, Billy Cobham, and Smitty Smith. I hasten to add that the latter are great all-around drummers who can play jazz well.

Case in point: Vinnie Colaiuta, one of the best jazz players (or any other style) out there is on the new Megadeth record. Check him out in some videos on the web, he will blow your mind.

Learning jazz will definatly make you a better rock drummer or anyother drummer and, for that matter it will make you or anyone elese that considers themselves to be a musician a more accomplished musician, regardless of your chosen style or instrument.

Ever drummer owes their career to jazz to one extent or another. Music is an art of self expression, jazz, punk, blues what-ever are all global languages with-in styles with their own interpratations of punctuation.

Jazz is vital regardless because it opens you to endless possibilities. Once you have learned to read music and you know the signifcance of 1 number on top of the other in a time signature, you've won half the battle. Jazz is perfect for improvisation and being that extra bit daring every time.

stump