Why do you play?

casketborn1

I started because I had a set and my friends needed a drummer. I hadnt played in 8 years. So I grabed the set from good ol' Mom and started jammin. 1 year, 3 shows, a Demo, and 3 bandmates later I find myself feeling confident and very passionate about the instrument I play. My only goals are to progress and to play with some of my favorite bands. I wanna be able to play what I grew up listening to.

CASCINAIDRUMS

Because my mom was a jazz singer and I played with her band, Now I just play progressive rock, hard rock, and metal the only time I play jazz now is on my solo's

Ericinho6

I started playing when I was 14 because a kid played drums and the girls LOVED him (basically cause he was the only drummer in school). So my parents forked over money and hooked me up with a simple set. But I just felt so comfortable behind a kit, I kept playing and playing, getting better and better...now I love it.

Thanks guy :wink:

lowdrummer

when i was 12 I was originally going to play the clarinet but my dad made fun of me and said I should play the drums, so I did and foud I had a nack for it, then found that I loved it, and 6 1/2 years later im still playingand progressing.

RILY!

I started because my friend moved out of his house and had nowhere to put his kit.
So he gave it to me but i didnt really think i would take it serious.
Fast forward two years and im completely in love with them.
And im planning on starting up a band with a few friends soon.

screamkevin

Sorry, gonna wax philisophical here. I posted this in a blog recently, so here's why I play:

Someone asked me the other day, why I play drums.

I opened my mouth and stated the obvious: Because I love to do it.

Then last night, I started thinking about it, the last 34 years that I've been playing (I'm 38, yes, I started when I was 4). And it goes so much deeper than that. (Warning: Non-musicians may have a hard time understanding/relating to what follows.)