which kit?

Krisch

I'm mainly a rock drummer. I like wet and punchy toms, a thud of a bass drum, and high, cutting snare. i do alot of double bass beats like 16th notes at about 145bpm.

Which kit would you reccommend me, within the price range of say 1000 of my english pounds. I'm thinking Tama?

drummert2k

tama's good. i have a Ludwig accent custom cs and with a pinstripe tom batters, remo power sonic kick batter, and a port in the reso i am VERY happy with it. all birch shells, tons of body, great boom. although i'd recommend trying to buy the shell pack (kick, 10 inch tom, 12 inch tom and 16 inch tom) and then buy a differant upgraded snare drum.

heres a link to the sizes i have. its the fusion. still has an 18x22 kick but 10 and 12 inch rack toms.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/prod...-Fusion-Plus-5Piece-Satin-Drum-Set?sku=447709

Krisch

those rack toms look a little "shallow". Do they give you that depth and projection that is quentessential to most rock drumming?

drummert2k

Krisch":3iibov9x said:
those rack toms look a little "shallow". Do they give you that depth and projection that is quentessential to most rock drumming?
yeah, its the same idea as dw's "fast toms". i have pinstripes on mine and get really warm really boomin low end. even the 10 inch sounds really good with a double ply head on it.

they have a model with the standard tom depths. i just likes the 10 inch tom and shallow drums.

you can hear them on my one bands myspace. i know its in the studio and a lot of tweaking goes on but it'll give you an idea of the low end and thump possible. http://www.myspace.com/faithuntilfalling

Krisch

Your band sound pretty good, as do the drums. the snare sounds pretty sweet. what make is that?

drummert2k

Krisch":32jmco3a said:
Your band sound pretty good, as do the drums. the snare sounds pretty sweet. what make is that?
thanks, not really the genre i like to listen to but when you're the one in the band you tend to enjoy it more.