whats a good first electronic set?

scmcarthur

ive been playing drums for about 4 years or so now and i have never owned a electronic set before and i just want one for band practice and my own practice since they are much quieter 9 ( i still love acoustic set better!) and i live in an apartment.......

DRUMSMYWIFE

The Yamaha DTXplorer. They dropped the price from 800 to 700. Yeah realistic sounds better than s pads but not as really good as Rolands.

sharp13

DRUMSMYWIFE":14lx12ag said:
The Yamaha DTXplorer. They dropped the price from 800 to 700. Yeah realistic sounds better than s pads but not as really good as Rolands.

can they do rimshots, and bell sounds on the ride?

anavrinIV

stephenchong":2klfiu9w said:
Ahh, yes. I have a question too, forgive me. :D

Can you actually choke an electronic cymbal ?
anything roland can be choked, cymbals and drums. well, at least the td-3 and up can. i have a td-6 set and love it. given the choice between electric and acoustic, i wouldnt give up either.

DRUMSMYWIFE

No the Yamaha Dtxplorer cannot do rimshots. You can buy a pad that does. Yes you can choke electronic cymbals if it is a dual zone pad. Or a 3 zone pad can choke and you can hit the bell.

Rockula!

Does it have to be configured like a drumkit?
Because the Roland SPDS can be played a bit like a drumkit
There are ports for hihat and bass drum pads
Very compact and great for practicing anywhere
Check out this video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sgdm1LeLdAY

I use it in my experimental setup
There is red tape in between the pads so I can see better in the dark
[/img]

It may not have a million different drumkits (that most people wouldn't use in the first place) but it does have an on board sampler which means you can sample your own drums the way you want them to sound

qazzer