What inspired you to play drums?

break the prism

Bill Bruford of King Crimson among other proggers

hip-hop bands like Jurassic 5 and Tek Nine, and most specifically ?estlove from The Roots.

MasterShake89

to be honest, right as i started playing, travis barker was the biggest influence to me in the world. A 10 year old is easily impressed. not saying hes bad or anything tho.

TheYardstick

Dave Grohl, particularly his fill from No One Knows by Queens Of The Stone Age, was awe-inspiring and originally inspired me to pick up the sticks.

drumsforlife

I really don't have a "known" drummer that inspired me. I know that I have "known" drummers that inspire me now, like, Chad Sexton, Dave Weckl, Steve Gadd, Mike Portnoy, Neil Peart, the list goes on...

If I had to name a "known" drummer though, it would have to be Chad Sexton. He's precise and clever. Very creative. Plus he sounds damn good, being from DCI and all...

No, the person who first inspired me to pick up the sticks and beat on a drum was the lead snare in my marching band. His name was Dennis. I entered the marching band at my school on trumpet, but I left carrying a pair of sticks and a set of tenors. There's something more creative about playing drums that connects with me. And I thank Dennis to this day for inspiring me.

ddrumbum

stump":1hr1snk5 said:
What or who inspired you to start dedicating your time to the art of playing drums?
I started on the stupid trumpet, and just kept watching drummers, when I would listen to music, I just focused on the drummer, so I told my dad I wanted a drumset, so for christmas he bought me my first kit a Pearl president in sparkle blue, and the rest is history.

Wish I still had those drums.

drum man