vocals

fearitself

Does anyone on here do backup vocals whilst drumming?

I am pretty new to drumming and was wondering if somone could give me some pointers on multitasking singing and drumming.

Also, I dont have any form of ear protection and was wondering if anyone could recommend anything. whether it be basic plugs or headphones etc..

thanks in advance

Kyle_Dolson

I've done it and I don't think I can give any tips... It feels pretty natural. I'd maybe suggest a headset but they don't sound very good.

PDP9000

I used to back up sing and i have used a head set and a mic and
there are no pointers to give just do what comes natural and you will
be fine.

JasonS2C

I use an Audio Technica headset and have had no problems. Avoid condensers or other phantom powered headsets... unless you consistently play HUGE rooms they will pick up everything. Breathing, drum bleed, monitors, everything...... If you are into the boom stand thing (and don't think it looks borderline stupid when done by anyone other than Mike Portnoy), more power to ya. I just move around too much, stand up, etc and the mic has to come with me. Ear protection... depends if you go with a headset or not. I used to use isolation headphones (and still do when its just me practicing) but since switching to the headset I started using musicians earplugs. (the "vented" type as opposed to solid foam) They take the highs off and help bring down the overall decibel level. Plus you can still hear your "in-head" voice while singing, AND its not so isolated that it drowns out your drums or monitors. I used in-ear monitors for awhile (and still do at large or outdoor shows) but I ran into an interference problem where the headset I used at the time (I've since switched) was shocking the hell outta me. Actual singing tips while playing.... depends on what style your vocals are. Sometimes holding diaphragm pressure can be a biotch while drumming. Just takes practice with what comes natural to you. Good luck.