Tuning

dannycareyisgod

hey guys. over the last 3 years, i've been incredibly enthusiastic, and inspired by the works of Tool, and after re-watching a video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JVbFrl9w ... re=related), i want to go for a different method of tuning that will make every drum sound bigger, and more impacting than it is. the only problem is that i suck at tuning. any useful opinions/tips/anything on tuning a gretsch catalina maple 5 piece and make it sound bigger, and more badass?

p.s. im really trying to focus on making the toms sound really big and explosive.

thanks!

Airborne Ranger

If you are trying to get your toms to sound like Carey's, that will be impossible, as he has many effects to tailor his sound at his disposal in the studio and live. I was having trouble tuning as well until I saw the DVD "Drum Tuning: by Bob Gatzen". I never learned to tune either when I started playing, I just put tons of tape on my heads and started playing. You can find excerpts of the Gatzen DVD on youtube, so do a search, it'll tell you everything you need to know.

Maynardjames

if you want big wide open tom sound try useing single ply heads and tune the top and bottom as close as possible . just a little tighter then past wrinkle, hope this help

Lancelot Frosty

I'm looking at your tom sizes...
Fusions.
Well, I suggest you crank up the 10" tom. Won't sing if you tune it just past wrinkle. Have the 12" a little lower, and the 14 you can tune loosest for a boomy sort of deal...
I'm not helping much, I know. :lol:
It'll really help if you read the Drum Tuning Bible. Google it. If you can't find it, let me know. :mrgreen:

israel_silguero