Triplets

Metal Mickey

First off, I'm new to drumming and new to this site; so:

a) Hello :)
b) Don't laugh when I don't understand the drummers' lingo!

I'm nearly nineteen and have been drumming for a couple of weeks now, well, since I got my kit. It's a second hand (good condition) black Pearl 5-piece, quite a decent one, at least for a beginner. I haven't been playing anywhere near long enough to say 'I play like so-and-so', infact I can't really play at all, but I think I prefer a deeper, rock-sounding style of play than fast punk (although I do love punk). I'm more into playing the toms and lots on the bass than the snare and hi-hat.

The reason I titled this thread as such is because triplets are something I've just discovered in the last few days - and I'm loving them. I don't know if I have a knack for drumming and I don't really know how long it is before people normally have them learned but I seem to have picked them up really well. I can keep a nice, steady rhythm on the toms, mixing them up a bit and intersperse it with hits on the snare like John Bonham (favourite drummer along with Keith Moon). Really pleased with myself actually because I can't have spent more than about four hours in total practising and I seem to be playing evenly and at a decent pace, although I'll probably put myself to shame as I learn what you lot can do.

I'm trying not to be too ambitious and learn how to run before I can walk, but I've probably shot myself in the foot already by learning triplets. What should I be learning first? I know how to hold the sticks, how to set up the kit and all that, but what are the things I should be trying to master before all else?

Thanks.

okjohne

Get a copy of the 13 basic rudiments. Try google. Triplets are on there. If you can't read the music then get some one to help you. May be just a couple lessons to get started. Practice the crap out of them with a metronome. This is mostly gonna be snare work for a while.

keith bushey