Tribute bands

Status
Not open for further replies.

SHOGUNWARRIOR32

I know the majority here will consider a tribute band pretty ridiculous and pointless just as I do for the most part but I was contacted by some musicians here in Detroit who saw some of my Rush vids and was asked to join a Rush tribute band. I'm by no means a professional drummer like BillRay and would only consider it for s@#*s and giggles. I have a friend who's in A sabbath tribute band and they gig every week and he tells me how much of a blast he's havin with it. Just curious on what some of the opinions on here are. Has anyone here played and gigged in a tribute band?

Call me Gideon

I haven't yet but my guitar player wants us to form a side project, as a NOFX tribute band, and call ourselves YESFX. I dunno. Might be fun but there's no way I'd turn into my main gig.

m

if you think you'd enjoy it, that's all that matters. Tribute bands seem to do pretty good business these days.
And I think a Rush tribute would be a lot of fun. A lot of work too, but you've obviously done your homework there already.
If the other guys are tight musicians, give it a shot and see what you think.
The only downside I can see is that most folks coming to see a tribute show probably expect a high degree of accuracy, probably even down to the gear.
I've seen your videos before, but I don't recall if you're using a 'Peart-ian' setup presently or not. I would think you'll need to for the show.

I haven't played in a band strictly devoted to one particular act, but I've always enjoyed sneaking homages to our favorite inspirations into our sets.
Keep us posted if you decide to do it.

Timekeep69

Tribute bands do very well. That's how Tim "Ripper" Owens got the gig singing for Judas Priest in the 90's.

okjohne