tom tilting

truemusician

ok. i've been drumming for 8 years now. i've got a bunch of live experience, studio, solo, everything else experience. but one thing i could never really figure out what was such a big deal was rack tom tilting. i play with my drums at like a 45 degree angle. not facing me, but not straight up either. right in the middle. but i've had people critize me on my set up though. i dont really care what they say, but why is it that some think its "bad" to tilt you toms. does it affect the sound, or is it just not traditional enough for some players?? i know most pros play with them straight but it seems more convienent for them to be tilted anyway so you dont have to reach as far to do fills from the snare to the toms. im interested in how all you set up your toms and what you think is better or worse.

Don't listen to what other ppl say, especially if its bad critizism. Its not going to change the sound enough to worry about, if at all. Theres LOTS of drummers who have their toms mounted on an angle. Some names? lars from metallica; Nikkio from Iron maiden and so on. So dont worry about what other think.

nickbaldwin

Tilting is all down to preference, I used to do it a lot more than I do now. Back then I sat low down in the kit, one day I tried sitting higher and it stuck, the toms are not flush with the snare, if not a bit higher up, but still parallel.

Susanboy

My toms are about 10 degrees out. Just enough to make it easy to hit, but enough so that I still have to have good posture.

drummert2k

your tilt is all about what feels good to you. although having them tilted to much could result it leaving dents and stuff on your heads from hitting the drum with more of the tip of the bead rather than the side of the bead.

and if you do anything with rim shots on the toms to much tilt will take that option away.

other than that do what feels good to you.

hovis21