The Lightest Drumstick?

Irish

I'm fairly new to drumming, so I hope you guys understand my situation. I feel I play better with light sticks rather than heavier ones, but I have no idea where to look. Many drum sticks have codes, but I have no idea what they mean. Can anyone help me out? I'm just looking for the lightest drumstick for rock-type playing.

Thanks guys

screamkevin

Irish":3l8r6qk7 said:
I'm fairly new to drumming, so I hope you guys understand my situation. I feel I play better with light sticks rather than heavier ones, but I have no idea where to look. Many drum sticks have codes, but I have no idea what they mean. Can anyone help me out? I'm just looking for the lightest drumstick for rock-type playing.

Thanks guys
It depends on what brand you go with, really. I suggest heading over to Musician's Friend's website, and signing up for their catalog. You can look through that and see stick diameters and lengths there. You'll also be able to select what wood you want to use, most sticks are either maple, hickory, or oak.

Generally speaking, though, here's a quick primer. The smaller the number in the code, the larger the stick will be. (Kinda backwards, don't you think?) For example, the 2B is a large, fat rock stick, whereas the 7A is a lighter, thinner jazzy stick.

Most rock drummers that I've seen use either a 2B or a 5B. There are, of course, exceptions to that. I'm a rock drummer, and personally, I use a stick that is along the lines of a 5A, slightly thinner than a 5B, with a short taper and a round nylon ball tip. It's called the Pro-Mark TX707N.