That great Gretsch SMELL???

zen_drummer

You're not going to freakin' believe this, but it just happened tonight and I have to tell you, I wouldn't believe it if it had not happened to me!

I went to my practice space for a band rehearsal and everything seemed normal when I arrived. I sat down at my practice kit, a set of Gretsch Catalina Birch drums, and when I started playing the air in the immediate area of my kit started to have the putrid stench of death. It made me feel sick to my stomach and at the end of the tune, the bass player exclaimed "What on EARTH is that awful SMELL?"

Well, I was wondering the same, but it subsided after we finished playing. We looked EVERYWHERE for the source of the smell to no avail.

Undaunted we continued with the practice, but the INSTANT we started playing, the smell came back. We stopped and the smell once again subsided. We looked a bit longer for the source of the odor and could not find it.

So we started once again... with the same result.

The guitar player stood over the front of the drum kit and said "It's coming from your DRUMS... every time you hit the kick drum, the smell shoots out of the tom tom mount on the top of the kick drum!"

I stuck my nose down there and sure enough, the smell was coming from inside my drum!

My bass drum has both heads and no hole in the resonant head so this seemed impossible. My tom toms are on a double tom stand so there is nothing in the tom tom mount on the bass drum and that is where the smell was coming from.

So I removed the resonant head and found a dead mouse inside the drum. The poor little fella' apparently entered the drum through the tom tom mount and once trapped inside he obviously starved to death, (Or I klled him with my playing at a previous practice) and blessed my drum with such a sickening smell I actually nearly lost my dinner when I removed the head!