Superkick II or EMAD

Filter

Yeah...Which? I've heard great things from both so I'm undecided, and since they are a bit expensive it's not like I can try both unlike tom/snare heads. I'm a beginner but I am mainly interested in Rock/Alternative/Post-Hardcore

king_friday

i do like the emad, it is a nice skin. however i think the superkick II is a little better. it has a really nice punchy sound to it, its easy to get it to sound good. im using a superkick II right now and i am very happy with it.

GrindheadJim

I gotta go the other way and say EMAD 2. I think Evans' heads are more consistent, and the EMAD system offers more versatility.

PDP9000

I like the EMAD it a nice head for the bass drum and its better then the super kick
three. and it offers you more muffling with the two rings that come with it.

SGarrett

This is how I've always looked at it. An EMAD head is great for guys who don't know how to tune or aren't all that great with their tuning yet. It's hard to not get a punchy sound from one. But if you can tune, SuperKick heads are fantastic. The felt ring floats with the head instead of being stuck to it like EMAD heads, which allows more tone. And when you get right down to it, it's all personal preference. I play the SuperKickII/Regulator combo and couldn't be happier.

Jim, take that little white sticker off the counter-hoop of an old Evans head some time. You'll love the huge gap staring you in the face. That's one of the reasons why Aquarian heads are more consistent than Remo and Evans.

GrindheadJim

SGarrett":3kjuhayi said: