Suggestions for a future sound guy

pianistfingers

Hello all you drummers!

I am a pianist, drummer and keyboardist. As all of you have, I've been screwed over by bad sound guys at one time or another. I also, in some cases, am a person who says "if you know so much about it, then YOU do it". As for sound, I have said this to myself.

After highschool and college, I want to become a sound guy. I already run the sound at local parties, and I have been working on recordings for some bands.

All you drummers...what are your suggestions for a sound man? Any tips you would tell someone who wants to become a sound guy (like me, for instance)? I already can think of a few:

-run a good monitor for the drummer if they want it
-don't mess up the kit to mic it. If I cant mic the toms, I usually just throw some more overhead mics in

any more suggestions would be more than welcome. I know how much people hate the sound guy, and I want to be one of the ones people DON'T hate.

Rockaflodge

Me and my sound guy have a great friendship, I would think the best way is just run the sound to how the band wants it. I mean as long as they are happy, your happy.

screamkevin

Rule Number One: LISTEN, LISTEN, LISTEN. Your drummer knows what he wants to hear. He may not be able to explain it in terms you understand, but he'll get the point across if you listen, have an open mind, and work with him.

Rule Number Two: Be patient. Most drummers know exactly what they want from their drums. Problem is, it usually sounds like crap out front. Trust your ears, work with the drummer and find a common ground. Don't be a dick.

And most important...

SEE RULE #1!!!

Flatliner

become really good with sound, know how to get what you/the drummer wants out of the sound, there are to many "professionals" walking around that think having all the cords plugged in to the right jacks and mikes means that and sound problem isn't their fault.