Starting to teach drums...

tubthumped

Hi all,

Good to join the forum after reading it anonymously for a while...
Been on the MySpace list for a while now.

Anyway, let me introduce myself first.

I'm Craig, and i've been playing drums for around 8/9 years now. I'm a professional live and session drummer, working quite regularly with bands of all styles.
I've studied with a few great teachers, and continue to do so. Working very closely with a student of Jim Chapins, and another guy who has studied with Jim Marshall and Jack DeJohnette...

Anyway, i'm now looking at spending some of my free time teaching drums, and i have several students lined up wanting me to teach them.

I've read lot's of the topics discussed already and they're really interesting, got some great tips from them. Just wanted to ask how people usually approach there first lesson with a new student...? What mix of theory to playing do you generally take?

Thanks for your time, and advice.

Craig.

yea...i know wat you're talkin bout...i taught a friend of mine for my graduation project...you're teaching them drumset rite??...wat i would do is first give them drum pads b4 u put them on a kit....teach the rite stroke and technique...as u k...this is very important when playing the set..when they're done wit that....start some basic beats...like the Back in Black beat by AC/DC...slowly...add some things in...like hiting the bass on 1+...and stuff....just make sure you go slow...i think u know wat to do from there :wink:

tubthumped

Cheers for that, more advice and as always with us drummers it's always good! :)

One other concern i have, is at first i would be limited to teaching on my Electric kit. Obviously the sounds and layout is as near as damn it to a real kit... but do people think a new student to the drums would struggle more with the association of "This black pad here is a snare drum, this black pad here is a hi-hat"...?

Once again thoughts experience and opinions greatfully received.