Starting them young.

justchuck

This is just an oppinion of mine and I want to know how others feel about it. I have a three year old son who is into the drumms thanks to me. I gave him his first pair of sticks when he was two, and he always knew where they were at. My wife finaly agreed that he needed a set. We got him one of those small CB Drums kits and he loves to play. The only thing that I have a problem with is the fact of how many other people say " it is crazy that we bought the drums for him. He is too young and don't know if he is going to stay with it." I realy don't care my self, but just wanting some input from my brother drummers to make me feel a little better .

The Heel

Some people tell me I'm full of shit... but with my father being a full time musician, I began playing drums myself at 3 years old. Not because I was pushed into it... but because I was drawn to it.

My father was a guitar player at this point, so it wasnt that I was trying to be like him... it was just something I wanted to do even from that point.

Just dont force it is all.

If he loves to play... then why not? Now if you just teach him to play open handed... heheh.

lee

Well, if you say he loves to play I think you've answered your own question.
I've not got kids yet, but when I do have them, sure to say they'll be sitting behind a drumkit before they can walk!!!!!
Good luck!

Alcyon

Every time I go on youtube and see 11-year olds play Lamb of God I wish I'd started when I was three.

Gaddabout

justchuck, if your son learns he will get praise from you by playing the drums, it will become positive reinforcement and something that will stick with him the rest of his life. The day you stop taking an interest in his playing is the day it was a waste of money, but it sounds to me like you've introduced him to something you'll both be able to rally around when other forms of communication break down when he's older.