Stamina Problems

DreamT

Hey guys. I've been playing drums for about 12 years but only have I been playing hard rock/metal for about 8 months. I can't help but play my guts out. I just went through two brand new Zildjian Z custom Medium crashes in about 4 months. I'm also having problems at the tail end of shows at keeping my intensity up. I know I'm a little out of shape but are there any tips you might have on how I can still hit hard and get into the music the way I want to and not wear out before the end of a show?

Rick_danger

Try eating something healthy before the show. Drink a bottle of water and have a cup of yogurt or something. Try drinking Gatorade or another drink like that. You want your body to have enough energy to last you the whole show and doing things like this will keep you active and alert through the end.

Rob the Drummer

How long do you play during shows set wise? I usually lay back the first set...also, remember that you don't have to hit hard to play with intensity! Try workin' on that.

screamkevin

Here are a few tips that I can give:

1. Some sort of workout regimen would do you good. Focus on cardio (biking, running, walking on a treadmill, light weightlifting) to increase your endurance.

2. Like Rob said, lay back a bit the first set. Nearly every drummer (me included) gets a huge adrenaline rush when you get onstage. You have to be able to control it and play focused on the task at hand.

3. If you're playing full-PA gigs, remember this: let the mics work for you. They are there to increase your volume. You don't have to beat the crap out of your drums to be heard.

4. Eat healthy properly and get enough sleep. Your body only has so much energy to expend.

5. Re-examine your cymbal technique. You shouldn't be breaking Z Custom Mediums if you are hitting them at an angle.

Good luck!!

BillRayDrums

DreamT":2r20s6pb said: