Some advice please

Nina

I've only been playing drums for 2 years now and i started at contemporary music school last october anyway they've taken in applications for the degree and i applied and i have to audition, i have no problem with any of the required beats or reading i.e. they'll ask for a swung 4/4 beat (i'm doing really well on the technical and musical side of the course) I just sound like i've been playing for two years and i need to impress with the prepared piece part of the audition. I haven't developed the natural ability to just play loads of cool beats with cool fills, i dont know enough.
Are there any good songs with some great drumming in it that i can play for my piece. No super fast double pedal please but maybe jazz/funk/fusion with some great fills. I have no problem with learning songs so bring it on.

Thanks in advance

The Heel

Do you have an example of you playing? It would be good to see your style before guiding you in any certain direction.

Why learn something that contrasts what your strengths are right now? You need to learn chops that work with what you've already become familiar with.

If you could give us an mp3 or a video of you playing, we could probably dissertate a direction you could go in that would focus on your strengths instead of your weaknesses at this point.

If you cant get any material on here... give us your influences. Who do you like to listen to? Who do you base your style after?

You see where I'm coming from?

You arent going to learn a latin beat if all you listen to is Pearl Jam. You arent going to quickly adapt to learn a solid funk beat if you've only played Metallica.

There are thousands of cool pieces you can learn... but what one is right for me might be wrong for you.

Gaddabout

Nina":3guvdvdq said: