Snare buzz when hitting toms

I'm not sure if this topic has been discussed or not, so if it has i apologize.
I noticed as of late that when i hit my toms i get some really nasty snare buzz. I have tried to remedy this by tightening my snare more but it is still happening. Can anybody give me some advice on how to remedy this problem. Thank you in advance.

Peace
T

Rockaflodge

I dont know about any body eles but I have always, (sence the frist day I started playing-10 years ago) hade that buzz, mine is not nasty but it does buzz alittle when playing the rest of the kit. It does not bother me. I dont know if it can be fixed because the reason it buzzs is the low frequency of the toms resonate out wards and cause the snares to vibrate and you get the buzz. hope its some help-but if anybody knows how to stop, let us know how.

Zim

As do we all. I have found that if my snare is not on to much of a pitch it doesnt buzz as bad. I really hate when we are doing a quieter song onstage and I can hear the snare buzz when the bass player is playing. I try to make sure my snares are flat and if the strainer is jacked up even a little I change the strainer that helps alot too. I have 6 differant snare drums so I have found if I change em' up a bit I don't have too much trouble w/ buzz.

tabbott23

guys, it's a drum set. it will buzz when you hit your toms if the frequencies between the toms and the snare are similar. it's NOTHING to do with your kit or whether its 'nice' or not. it's tuning. also, if your snare is a 14" and your toms are even sizes (i.e. 10",12",14",16") the frequencies will naturally be closer. with odd sized toms, the buzzing is less. you listen to vinnie's kit or gregg bissonette's. they all buzz.

drumtone