Single Foot speed help

I AR MONKEY

Hey you guys, this is my first time posting, but ive been looking around for a while now.

I wanted to ask how I could get my right foot faster or what I can do to help my technique on a single pedal. I pride myself on being pretty quick on a single bass, and I love it when people come up to me and go "holy crap...that was single bass dude?!" and its kind of my thing, but sometimes I feel like my foot comes and goes, and at times I know I can really go pretty quick on my strokes, but sometimes I just cant.

Recently my band had an important show, one that I was crapping my pants about beacuse my leg had been "acting slow" lately and I thought it wasnt going to be fast for the show, but turns out the day of the show I played the fastest I ever had, and accurate as well.

But, I lucked out, and dont want to leave our next shows (which are even more important now) to luck and chance.

There has to be a way for me to work on my foot technique and speed, beacuse if its just "sometimes I play really fast on a single bass drum pedal and sometimes I dont" then there is something im not doing correct.

help?

soliddrummer

bro, I'm in the same boat. all I know is that Thomas Lang, John Blackwell, and Mike Mangini have the same problem. I saw them in person when they said some days their feet are fast, and some days they just aren't. I guess you just have to practice all you can, then PRAY! ;)

I AR MONKEY

soliddrummer":2ohwpulg said:
bro, I'm in the same boat. all I know is that Thomas Lang, John Blackwell, and Mike Mangini have the same problem. I saw them in person when they said some days their feet are fast, and some days they just aren't. I guess you just have to practice all you can, then PRAY! ;)
blackwell and lang use double dont they?

Eh, I dont know man, its just scary that I might have a bad nite one nite, only cause of a random chance. I want my mess ups to be beacuse of my own fault and not random.

=/

Shalaq