Seat height

METALCHRIS

I was doing some pre-production, and the producer(also a drummer...GREAT!!) said if I raised my seat up it might help some ISSUES i was having

I have been playing for about 12 yrs or so with the throne pretty much as low as it would go. I tried it the way he wanted, it will take time to adjust.

Just wondering what height you guys play at?

Animal

I sit fairly high on the stool, I'll say.

I'm about 186 cm's high, and my drum-stool is adjusted to the point were my thighs angle slightly downwards.

I find it easier than the "usual" way to position your drum-stool, whitch is basically way too low.

drummert2k

seat height is mostly personal preferance. although sitting with your leg as close to a 90 degree anlge as possible gives you an even balance between playing heel up and heel down, you have to just mess around to see whats most comfortable. i personaly sit with my leg a little higher than a 90 degree angle but i also do very little heal down work. just mess around with it and see what feels best to you. its all about feeling comfortable.

Chad Scott

METALCHRIS":3xq2mqgo said:
I was doing some pre-production, and the producer(also a drummer...GREAT!!) said if I raised my seat up it might help some ISSUES i was having

I have been playing for about 12 yrs or so with the throne pretty much as low as it would go. I tried it the way he wanted, it will take time to adjust.

Rip

if i feel my abs tighten to play my bass drum, I'm too low. I like my thighs parrallell but slightly downward and my snare and floor tom high enough to not hit my legs. I want all my energy to transfer into my arms and feet and not used for sitting at the kit.

downshifter99

I sit with my legs slightly angled down(almost straight).

My snare is 1 1/2 inches higher(as well as my mounted tom)so,that way it is comfortable to get good rim-shots with out having to have my arms way up in the rafters.

What is comfortable is right! :twisted:

BillRayDrums