Rock/Metal Cymbals

Ludwig24

I have been drumming for a few months now and I'm starting to get decent and I'm looking to buy an awesome cymbal setup. I will be playing Hardcore Rock and possibly some Metal so hopefully someone will know of a great setup for these types of music. I have been looking through Zildjian, Sabian, Paiste, and Meinl and there are sooooooo many possibilities to choose from. I definitely need Hi-Hats, Ride, Crash, China, and Splash. If I need 2 of either then I could possibly do that. I don't need the cheapest available I can afford to spend quite a bit on these but I don't want to pay 400+ per cymbal either. I don't know much about the Meinl's, but the Zildijian A, Z, K, and Custom versions of those, Sabian AA, AAX, and Hand Hammered, and Paiste 2002's seem to sound the best from what I can tell by examples on the internet. I don't have anywhere to go test them out so I have to rely on the internet and outside opinions. I'm also completely clueless on what sizes to aim for as most seem to range from 15-20 or 20-22. Please just advise me on what would be a great setup. 2 of My favorite drummers are Alex Rodriguez from Saosin and Matt Greiner from August Burns Red if that helps any on what type of sound I'm looking for. Saosin is on the lesser end of the Hardcore genre while August Burns Red is Metal so that is the spectrum I'm aiming for. Any and all advice will be greatly appreciated. Thank You!

SGarrett

All you're going to get are personal opinions and "the brand I play is the best!".

I play Sabian AA, AAX, and HHX.

Ludwig24