Right hand and foot stick together

azorane

Hi all!

I started to play drums for 2weeks now and I'm a top beginner with many starting problems playing the drums. So that i need your help.

I've already found many exercises that helps you practice the weakest hand (my case, the left one) but I haven't found any for that "right hand and foot sticky rhythm". While doing for example a 4 time rhythm with right hand and another one with drum bass foot my right hand tends to do the same as the foot.

Sorry about my English, it's a little poor. I'll try to explain other way.

Example: (Playing on bold)

Right hand on hit hats:
1&2&3&4 | 1&2&3&4 | etc...

And I want the right foot to do this:
1&2&3&4 | 1&2&3&4 | etc...

Any exercise that could help me to cut the damn line connected between my hand and foot?

Many thanks to you all!

Raul

kylevater

its just going to take, you guessed it, time and practice
its very key to learn that very early on, which you are very smart for doing
it will come over time as you get further down the drumming path
what i did was to make sure my high hat is always going at the same note, while i just concentrate on the snare and bass
once you can get your mind off keeping the high hat going, itll be easy

cableman26

Hey brother welcome. This is a problem we all face. Do you have a metronome? If not get one, they are gold. Start out slowly I'm talking maybe 70 Beats Per Minute, with your right hand do quarter notes as you described. Then with your feet do para-diddles. RLRR LRLL. You may not play a double pedal, but this will help to establish foot independence. I'm no pro, but that's what helps me. It's hard at first but you get it.

azorane

:) I didn't guess it! I know it! I know I must give some time to it and go slow. It's a fact that sometimes it's frustrating to see that line (invisible) connected between the parts of my body, but that's the natural evolution.