Relaxing while drumming

MuzZle

Hi everybody, I have a question. I have been playing drums for about 9 years now and am pretty proficient at it. I am an all around very educated drummer, I started off playing back in the day with my rudiments and then went to grooves, then different styles like Jazz and latin and poly-rhythmic beats. Through all these years, however, one major problem for me has been that I am very stiff when I play. I always have trouble relaxing when I play, my beats and grooves sound good, but I can tell when I listen to my own recordings and I believe that me being tense is affecting the sound of my drumming. i was wondering if anybody else has/had this problem and what they do to alleviate it? I drum with my wrists and fingers and my body still tenses up, ahhh! Help!

bloodshotneo

I' too have been playing nine years and the best way I found to relaxe while drumming is too Learn to relax while drumming. like right now just put you arms by your side and let them set there dont even move just let them set. Now when you go to your drum try the exact same thing and just say hit the snare or something slow but be AS RELAXED AS POSSIBLE. Then try your other hand. and then after that try alittle faster. but know this. That no Matter how fast you play you can never TOTALLY relax it's impossible. you think about it . you move you use muscle. So basically to relax as much as you can start slow and see what your limit is. Exercising works bc if you have more muscle then it's easier to perform task. But also it's good to build what's called twitch muscles the one's you know where you can move alot faster than normal. they are built by things like taking those exercise stretch bands and Holding your arms and legs in a position. I hope you know what im talking about. But n e way I play alot of Prog. Death metal ( DRUMMING ) that's it. and metal and bits of other stuff here and there. so overall Im pretty relaxed but never totally

Mxpxdude189