Reading Music...

mead50

How important is it?

I'm barely learning, i've been playing for 10 months and i've been fine without reading music, I just play what I feel

Should I learn?

boyd_s

Yes, definitely learn to read music. If you plan to go anywhere with your music, reading music is essential. I would also suggest learning a bit of music theory as well as it helps tremendously as well in the long run.

mead50

boyd_s":le3c531h said:
Yes, definitely learn to read music. If you plan to go anywhere with your music, reading music is essential. I would also suggest learning a bit of music theory as well as it helps tremendously as well in the long run.
theory?...wut about music theory, isnt it just reading music or wut theory can i use on drum set?

i just got treble clef notes down i think

in between the lines its f.a.c.e.
and on the lines its e.g.b.d.f right?

vincemie

reading drum notation is different than reading notation for anything else. when reading music for the drum set the bars and spaces are broken down into parts of the drum kit, ( hi hats, snare drum, kick drum, toms etc...) while in any other form, they are broken down into melodic note values, ( a, b, c, d, e, g ) i think when mentioning music theory he meant the many many many many other applications of music theory other than just reading drum music.

mute

it's not necessary. you can certainly get away without it and many do. depends on what your goals are

christopherabruce

Yes you should. The more you play and get involved in music, the more opportunities will come your way, and some will require some level of reading skills.

mead50":qqa9jx5f said:
How important is it?

I'm barely learning, i've been playing for 10 months and i've been fine without reading music, I just play what I feel

Should I learn?

mute

Jimbob2020":2aflwwf7 said:
mute":2aflwwf7 said:
it's not necessary. you can certainly get away without it and many do. depends on what your goals are
can you?