Professional Recording tips (studio)

rockon2112yyz

My band is getting ready to go into the studio and put out an album and I have never done this before. Can I get some advice from the drummers who have done this before about how to do it best? Like some little tips that would help save time/money and make it sound good. Thanks

justin headley

pre-production is EVERYTHING!!!! if you rehearse and have the tunes down perfect when you get to the studio you should be able to do each trak in 1 take.
A big problem alot of people face is there nerves. Example... i was doing a session with kid rock here in detroit a few months ago and i was having problems sticking the track, and bob (K.R.) pulled me aside and said i wouldn't be there if i couldnt do it. so just have the confidnce and own what your playing. and if your recording to a click and you dont use one live or in practice, work with it before you get there, learn to groove with it, dont be scared of it.

If you got any other questions hit me up.

Good Luck, I hope it goes great!

Rockula!

I was looking for the other thread that talks about this but I couldn't find it so...
The other thing that can be a time waster is not having your equipment ready fo the session
Try to talk to the producer/engineer about what type of heads would be best for your situation
Also, little things like positioning can be a huge problem
For instance, I like my whole kit to be very compact
In the studio, this means that everything would bleed into everything else
In order to compromise, I had to set up with a more streched out kit and had to raise my cymbals up very high (for me that is)
Luckily, the producer came out to see a live show beforehand and we discussed such problems beforehand
All it took was one rehearsal with the modified "strecthed out" kit and I was comfortable enough to do the sessions (I even aced most of them on the first take!)