Playing other sets

Jamell

Well the past few weeks I've seen drummers on their sets and I seem hesitant to ask them to play their kit. I mean, I've been playing for 6 years, I get lessons from yellowcard's drummer and I'm experience in playing infront of people but asking other drummers if I can play their kit just seems weird to me, does anyone else feel this way or have any advice for me?
Thanks
-Tommy

gadrmrboy

i feel weird about it, so unless the invitation is extended to me i dont ever ask..however i usually let anyone that asks to take a spin on my kit. (provided i feel they know something about drumming.

RobDrmz

Something I've figured out on my own thru countless SIT-IN'S at gigs is...

Whenever you siti-in on someone's kit, it WILL be differnt than yours.

So, take a second to play a simple-simple beat REALLY soft. I mean inaudiably for as long as you can.

This gives your muscles some memory & your Slayer fills might actually work! ;-)

Dale

These days it doesn't worry me. I think as long as your hands are in working order and you can reach the pedals it shouldn't be too much of a problem.

animalien

If I see a set that I like it's config, I will ask to play it. I find it very educating when I sit down behind someone elses kit.

I have been told my kit setup is "Very Comfortable". I couldn't have said that better myself. I like the feel, and the position of each item. The more comfortable behind the set you are, the better you play, right?

NEWay, I learned how to position my set by working on others' sets. Where they mount the toms, the cymbal position - tilted or flat. Cowbells and other "Accouterment".

Best part about playing so many different sets is that you are never thrown off if you have to play a strange kit.

Just as long as you are playing, right?

wak

im also not a fan of using other people equipment

not for the setup, but i am slightly heavy handed, and have broken a few things, if its a friends kit, im ok