Playing live with MIDI

rjbaked

I've been playing for over 25 years but the new band I just joined wants me to play to a MIDI track. What's the best way to have a MIDI track at the front of the house with a click track in my headphones??

Any help would be cool

tabbott23

put them both separately through a mini 4 mic mixer (like a behringer xenyx 1202). plug your headphones in and you can have both in or just one.

Blue Brat

I've done a lot of this, weather it's midi or playing to a click track or pre-recorded backing track (ie: DAT audio, CD Player, etc).

First off, your personal monitoring.
I've found that using monitors, wedges, etc. doesn't really work well. Unless your band is always doing its own sound, which in a lot of places isn't allowed anyway, you won't have the control you need to make them work. Having headphones is the best way to follow the track. Find yourself a cheap mixer on ebay or something so you can set a control next to you for volume. You can find super long extension cords for the headphones at radio shack.

I don't recommend full-over the ear headphones either, since you really do want to hear the other band members playing, and including yourself! Those things will drown everything out almost. FInd something "light" like earbuds or in-the-ear discs that do not cover the ear whole completely. You can get the sound loud enough without hurting your hearing, and still get the ambient sound from everyone. Plus, wearing huge ass headphones does look f'n stupid in a band.

Headphones are easier to carry than a speaker or wedge, that's helps! You can get a used road case for a rack-mount mixer also off of ebay or something to cut costs down. Just make sure you do some rehersal equipment setups with the band, and bring extra cords, power cords, etc. for all this shit.

Backing Track