Paiste players, please help!

kec

I’m looking to buy a new cymbal set up. I’ve used both Zildjian and Sabian in the past but have always looked at Paiste with interest. I’ve always loved the sound of Paiste but I’ve heard rumors that they crack easy. I’m looking at the 2002 Wild series; does anyone have any experience with them?
I have to add that I am a very hard drummer but schooled. I always hit the cymbals with glancing blows or I pull back the drumstick when the cymbals are hit. I never “go through” the cymbals.

Thanks,
Kyle

racefan33

I've been playing Paiste cymbals for 20 years and most of the varieties and the "they crack easy" rumour is crap. Heck I bought a Forumla 602 11" splash used and it lasted 3 years before it cracked and that was only after some knucklehead sat on my kit and slammed into it like it was a 20" crash. Dang I miss that cymbal.

Question, I have never heard of a 2002 "Wild" cymbal, I even checked the Paiste website. Did you mean the 2002 RUDE? If you did, the Rude cymbals are only good if you are playing loud and live. They cut like crazy live. They do not record well. They also are thick as hell so you won't have an issue with cracking.

break the prism

i bought a 5 years used 16" paiste signature fast crash cymbal and have had it for 3 years. no dents, cracks, anything. and this is one of the thinnest cymbals on the market.

EOTE_drummer

i havent tried the wild but, i can tell u that the 2002 series is some of the best sounding cymbals ive heard. and no they do not crack easy, the thin crashes u might be a little more careful with though. and know he didnt mean rude. they just added the wild series, its just odd sizes i think. such as 15' and 17' crashes, 19' and 21' rides, 13 1/2' high hats.

Devindrummer12