Painting Drum Shells

JasonDeLima

Timekeep69":1lai5jj3 said:
Before you drill.

Any auto paint will work but be sure to seal the grain first and prime it.
Uh oh. Before?
I'm ordering from AmDrumParts, and they include free drilling/bearing edges. Would that be a problem?
And how do I seal the grain/prime it?

Timekeep69

No it won't be a problem, just make sure to tape the holes from the inside. Paint doesn't seep through like stain does.

I think you can use sanding sealer to seal the grain, let me get back to you on that.

JasonDeLima

Timekeep69":1e54zo5y said:
No it won't be a problem, just make sure to tape the holes from the inside. Paint doesn't seep through like stain does.

I think you can use sanding sealer to seal the grain, let me get back to you on that.
How do I tape the holes from the inside?
Sorry for asking so many questions, I'm new to this.

zen_drummer

JasonDeLima":1sy4iq6v said:
Timekeep69":1sy4iq6v said:
masking tape.
I know I should use some sort of tape, do I take a tiny strip of tape, and tape around the inside of the hole?
Rip off a piece of tape and cover the hole from the inside of the shell... you're not trying to prvent paint from getting into the hole... you're trying to keep if from running into the inside of the shell where it would be ugly.

JasonDeLima

zen_drummer":u2f06nul said:
JasonDeLima":u2f06nul said:
Timekeep69":u2f06nul said:
masking tape.
I know I should use some sort of tape, do I take a tiny strip of tape, and tape around the inside of the hole?
Rip off a piece of tape and cover the hole from the inside of the shell... you're not trying to prvent paint from getting into the hole... you're trying to keep if from running into the inside of the shell where it would be ugly.
Oh alright. Thanks. I just thought that the paint layer would make it hard for the lugs to screw in.

antiunderscores

JasonDeLima":1bquw5jh said:
zen_drummer":1bquw5jh said:
JasonDeLima":1bquw5jh said:
Timekeep69":1bquw5jh said:
masking tape.