New Set Soonish - Need some advice

jey18

Ahoy, new person to these forums.

Anyways I've been playing drums since I was 12, completely self-taught. I have never really had a "nice" set but I've always made what I had sound as good as it could. I play stuff from jazz to punk to hard rock (Danny Carey, Ryan Parrish, Travis Barker being some main influences.) I mostly play hard rock that sounds similar to Unearth, Every Time I Die, and Darkest Hour, but I play a little punk as well. I like playing a 4 piece, used to play a 5 but now I really do enjoy having a smaller kit. Anymore than 4 and I just don't feel comfortable.

I'm thinking of going balls to the wall on a new set here pretty soon and would like to get a set that will fit my sound, technique... generally I just want to make sure it'll fit what I want. Something that will last me damn near the rest of my life.

I have my heart set on a Tama Starclassic Maple kit along with Paiste cymbals and Tama Hardware. I am, however, a bit unsure if the sizes I have in mind will fit well. I realize it can be completely arbitrary but some input might be nice. Here's what I'm looking at.

Bass Drum: Tama Starclassic Maple 24"x18" (SMB2418)
Rack Tom: Tama Starclassic Maple 14”x13” (SMT1413)
Floor Tom: Tama Starclassic Maple 18”x16” (SMF1816)

I'm pretty sure about those, but again, any input/thoughts/suggestions would be nice. Pretty open at this point. Now as far as the snare goes I really don't know where to go here. Should I go with a metal snare, or wood? I do like the sound of Barker's snare in Blink 182's final three albums. And Carey's snare in Ænima (particularly in the song Stinkfist.) Any thoughts there? Doesn't necessarily have to be a Tama snare.

As far as the cymbals go I think I got those covered. Any thoughts on these drums though? Thank you in advance.

anavrinIV