new at double bass pedal

ccrdrums

hey so im kinda new at this double bass pedal i have a vex and i like but anyone know a good way to get started? :?:

vargasdrumbeast

Start by doing simple beats on the double bass, work slow then build up your speed.

Try ankle weights if you want to work out your foot speed(this is what I did, it might not work for you)

Once you get down simple beats, try incorporating double bass playing into music without playing constant double bass, this sounds great in proggressive/experimental music.

Good Luck! :D

iplaydrums1

i completely agree, however i think using ankle weights as an early double bass player may be too much for you. thats something to get into when you already have down a good technique and want to get faster ( at least for me, you never know what would work for you)

play straight 16ths with your metronome . start slow at about 80 bpms or so and then move up through the meter

after that, play some dotted 16th note rhythms with a simple 4/4 groove over your hands.

if you want me to explain anything more please feel free to drop me an email or IM ill explain anything you need.

Mike T

A good way to practice is find a copy of the book "Stick control for the snare drummer" By George Lawrece Stone (it has been around since the 30's) there are a ton of exercises in there that focus on LLRRLRLR etc turn on your metranome 60 to 80 BPM is a good starting point and simply play as many excercises with your feet as you can before getting tired then slowly increase the BPM and you will soon pick it up and have independence with your feet..have fun..

Deanoatc

Try pretending you never played drums before, and learn rudiments with your feet. Start real slow, and get the hang of it. After a while you will get faster and will be able to play the same thing on snare and bass drum. Its what I did, but it doesen't work for everyone.

mattdoesrock