Need Some help with tension and pain in my hands

KeziaColton

Hey
so ive been playing drums for 4 years now
and im starting to get really serious about it.
My only problem is ive hit a point where my drumming is getting affected by this issue i have with my hands
what happens is im fine when im playing my softer stuff
but as soon as I start picking up speed and doing my more intense fills and rolls, my hands start to get really tense.
they start locking up and they get really sore, and once this happens i can no longer play at my full talent.
the only thing that seems to help is if i take a 5 minute break
thats fine when im practising but its a real pain when im writing with my band or practising a full set of songs.
I already tried moving from 7a vic firth to 5a and that has seemed to prolong the time till my hands start to get sore.
I dont know ive looked and looked and im kind of lost so any advice or help would be awesome
thanks

SGarrett

Do you stretch your fingers? Are you pinching and/or squeezing really tightly? How relaxed are you when you play? How much do you practice?

stephenchong

I have a similar problem. When i speed up, my shoulders kinda rise higher ? And my whole body stiffens up. You should try to work on your pace when you practice. Start from slow to fast, while keeping your body relaxed all the time. Don't make the habit of stiffening up your body when you start one fast speeds. If you have this habit, then kick it ! :)

llllarry

stephenchong":edaauwg3 said:
I have a similar problem. When i speed up, my shoulders kinda rise higher ? And my whole body stiffens up. You should try to work on your pace when you practice. Start from slow to fast, while keeping your body relaxed all the time. Don't make the habit of stiffening up your body when you start one fast speeds. If you have this habit, then kick it ! :)
My drum teacher is all over me when I stiffen up and my shoulders raise up. Definitely not a good habit to get into.

peripsy