Need help with hand foot coordination.....

zackobie

I am a newbie to the drum world and need some help on my hand and foot coordination. The problem I'm having comes into play when I'm trying to learn a song that requires two bass drum beats on the third note while playing straight notes on the hi-hat. Taking a basic rock beat with straight 4/4 count on the hi-hat, snare on two and four and bass on one and three. In trying to get the double bass beat on the third note my hand playing the hi-hat wants to take over and follow the tap of my foot on the pedal causing a skip on my hi-hat. Has anyone else started out with this problem, and if so how did you fix it? Any suggestions, excercises or tips would be appreciated........................thanks

llllarry

Coordination and syncopation are always going to trip you up. They make drumming harder than it looks to the eye. The best advice I can give you is to practice these tricky beats, and take it slowly. Maybe start out with your hi-hats, then snare, and finally work in the bass.

Lancelot Frosty

I'm with Larry all the way.
What you can do is keep up the basic 4/4 beat and play it over and over and over again.
Switch the hat patterns to 8ths, 16ths, and maybe even quarter notes.
Keep that sort of stuff up until you are very comfortable with it.
Won't take too long.
Then try out other beats.
Don't forget to keep drumming.
Keep us posted, aight? :D

Oh, and, you better practice your rudiments.
Ex:
Where R is right and L is left:
R L RR L R LL.
Ask around.
The guys in the forum know where to get the complete list of rudiments. :)

SGarrett

You can get all of the rudiments with audio samples at VicFirth.com, in the Education Center.

Sounds like you might be trying to play a 4 or 2 over 3 pattern? Where your right hand is playing 8th or 16th notes and your foot/feet are playing triplets? If so, I honestly suggest you put that on the back burner for a while until you get everything else up a little bit more.