Need help to mic drums??

cgaffka

Hey everyone!
I'm completely new to this mic your drums thing... Just wondering if anybody can tell me a good way to do this like what equipment I need and possibly how to set it up? Not looking for the greatest best ever sound.. just trying to get a little louder, yet not totally spend all my cash.

Thanks a lot everyone for your help I appreciate it!

-Chirs

Spydr2000

cgaffka":26zvaw7r said:
Hey everyone!
I'm completely new to this mic your drums thing... Just wondering if anybody can tell me a good way to do this like what equipment I need and possibly how to set it up? Not looking for the greatest best ever sound.. just trying to get a little louder, yet not totally spend all my cash.

Thanks a lot everyone for your help I appreciate it!

-Chirs
Well first thing is getting the right mic's. The most common are shure 57's and a AKG bass drum mic (not sure of the model). I talked to a sound guy recently and he said Audix drum mic packs are by far great mic's.

Now getting a good sound this takes alot of know how. Mic placement is keyand EQ ing. I would get horrible over tones and my sound man would move the mic a hair and it was completely gone. I never used a true bass drum mic but I used a shure 58 1" from impact of the beater with it slightly angled. This was my soundmans doing.. but I can't complain I had one of the best sounding bass drums.

Next is noise gating... a quad gate or possibly 2 of these units are needed. These clean up all those nasty overtones that the mic picks up. This is the unit that makes the toms sound muffled with attack. The othe thing you will need is some kind of reverb unit. You want a nice sounding reverb for getting that fat sound.

This will get you started.. there are other things you can add like separate equalizers for each drum, gated compressors, over head mic's

devilspain