Need help teaching students....

bbhuang

I'm a Drum Instructor at a place called Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia. in Asia

I have around 10+ students under me.

I think every one can play any standard beat in 30 minutes if i were to teach them how 2 drum......
But for me the hard thing is 2 teach them to follow a certain tempo or beat there are suppose 2 follow.....

normally they take around 4-8 lessons trying 2 follow the tempo o midi player that i use that give out a metronome
sound with the correct electrical tempo base on beat.

teach me how 2 over come this problem.

P.s. the thing is a lot of students stopped because of this that is around 3 out of 10.

trstn

I let my students (1 for drums and a lot for guitar) play the beat or riff in a steady tempo and asked them stupid things about the food they ate, how's the school going and such. When I recognized that they are not disturbed by my questions and could have a conversation while playing I increased the tempo a bit until they need to concentrate on it again and start over.
After a few times I made this step by step increasing without any talking, I increased the tempo only when I saw that the student is able to play it. If it came to a "nearly too fast" tempo I encouraged to concentrate and not to stop for a bit longer. Counting out load is a good method to "force" concentration. How long these "concentration" phases are is up to the student, everyone is different. Be sure to have a relax period after concentration.

HTH
trstn

SGarrett