N00B HELP

Dizzy772

So, I'm a new drummer. I actually play guitar very heavily, but for my band my members want me to learn to play drums so we can all play all the parts to any song. I just bought a set from one of my bandmates, but it's definitely a crap beginner set (which I have no problem with since I don't plan on getting an expensive set any time soon). The set is a Sound Percussion set with Remo heads. i was wondering if there was anything I could do to increase the sound quality of the drums in general. I have my bass dampened with a pillow, but the sound just kinda stops (although it has a good tone) and I really have to stomp on the pedal to get any heard sound from it. My toms ring like no other (which, once again, I'm a N00B, so I wouldn't know if that's good or not), and I would like a dead thump from them. I would assume that I would have to buy dampeners for them but I figured I'd throw it in nonetheless.

thanks a lot,
Dizzy

anavrinIV