Metronome....

danne87

hey folks.

My band is going to record a song for a tribute CD to the finnish punk band Zlaskhinx soon.
My concern is if I should play with a metronome or not. I've never used a metronome for recordning before and everything has worked out well before. But last time we recorded I kinda screwed up a song and we heard it first when we started recordning bass guitar (untight rolls speeded the song up and it sounded stupid).

When I play with a metronome I always loose the beat somewhere. So recording with a metronome would take some serious time (cost alot of money). While playing without isn't as tight and is risky.

Though this song we will do is 2min long and d-beat all the way hehe :p I just felt like vent out my dissapointment towards myself when it comes to practice with metronome. What do you think? Metronome = a must for production or an overrated thing that takes away the natural live feeling?

laters

You should use a metrenome when you record but also find out if you and your bass player can record at the same time. Or at least have you record and have your bass player play.

Kris

So let me see if I got this straight...your going to record a punk tribute album and your worried about a click. I think the whole idea of punk was to buck the system and coloring out side the lines...I think if you play by the rules on this one you might lose the ansgt animosity and raw live feeling that is supposed to be there...not saying that it can't be done, but should it be done?
Some things you need to step outside the box on and I think that this is one of them in order to do justice to the style. Roll with the scratch tracks on the bass/guitar and let it fly man....play the feel!

Quinn