metal and hardcore

RILY!

First off i have been drumming for around two years,
and im trying to figure it out without having to take lessons.
(cause i cant really afford them)
I would like to get into metal and hardcore drumming.
So pretty much im looking for some tips and insight.
Anything would be helpful.

Thanks.

seandude

learn to read music and practice practice practice....get lessons! and learn double bass and the ummm whatever its clalld when u hit the snare crash and double basss its like a metal thing...ejeez i cant remember what itsOHHH blast beat learn that! and if ur really in hardcore ide get two bass drums

DrumminBari

I hate to say it but you wont get far with out some sort of lessons. Doesnt neccisarly have to be pro either, if your in highschool join band or drumline and get lessons from the instructor. But definetly learn to read music. Nothing drives me nuts like playing with anyone who plays any instrument when they cant read. Its a must even if your in a garage band and your music never makes it to notation, it will still help sort it out in your head.

As far as metal and hardcore go, feet chops. Learn rudiments on both your hands and feet. Even though I dont use my double as much as some, I still make sure whatever my hands can do, my feet can do.

CASCINAIDRUMS

DrumminBari":2zqt6n0j said:
I hate to say it but you wont get far with out some sort of lessons. Doesnt neccisarly have to be pro either, if your in highschool join band or drumline and get lessons from the instructor. But definetly learn to read music. Nothing drives me nuts like playing with anyone who plays any instrument when they cant read. Its a must even if your in a garage band and your music never makes it to notation, it will still help sort it out in your head.

As far as metal and hardcore go, feet chops. Learn rudiments on both your hands and feet. Even though I dont use my double as much as some, I still make sure whatever my hands can do, my feet can do.