major techniques to work on

Trent

im about 7 minutes new to this site and it seems cool..

ive been playing for about four years now and ive had just a couple classes to get the basics down. and im an ok player. what would you guys recomend i should work on? or more so focus on to bring me to new higher levels?

Dale

Trent":kze8p7ii said:
im about 7 minutes new to this site and it seems cool..

ive been playing for about four years now and ive had just a couple classes to get the basics down. and im an ok player. what would you guys recomend i should work on? or more so focus on to bring me to new higher levels?
Perhaps you could tell us what you have done. We don't know what you need.

My short answer would be to work on your tempos and groove.

PaulZILLA

well i highly recomend the Derek Roddy videos. and definately recomend the Dave Weckl videos. they can help you go from amature to. wow wtf was that. haha. thats my major tool to learning and progressing. they teach you exercises that you can continue well beyond the video and advance on your own.

amontholdDrums

I recommend going to www.drummerworld.com and watching as many videos as you can.. thats pretty much what i did and damn. its inspiring and you can see what the greats did and you can try and mimic that.. after a while.. youll be able to morph it in to your style.

I recommend learning some drumline excersizes.. you could probably google "drumline excersizes" and come up with some stuff.. start with the basics.. if you cant read music.. i recommend you learn.