Looking for Teaching Tips

Toronto Rock

New to the teaching scene - looking for tips as I accept new clients.

I have been a drummer for along time and of all the things I've done I have never given professional lessons. That time has come and I have 3 new clients that I start teaching this week.

My question is what should be my primary teaching focus on behalf of the students . I imagine skills such as; keeping time, rudiments, sight reading, or some combination. My students are very new to drums and range from a 7 year old girl and 10 year old boy to a 40 year old Chef!

Any advice would be welcome!

Niall
www.niallmellors.com
www.myspace.com/niallmellorsdrums

Dale

Toronto Rock":2gzygtu1 said:
New to the teaching scene - looking for tips as I accept new clients.

I have been a drummer for along time and of all the things I've done I have never given professional lessons. That time has come and I have 3 new clients that I start teaching this week.

My question is what should be my primary teaching focus on behalf of the students . I imagine skills such as; keeping time, rudiments, sight reading, or some combination. My students are very new to drums and range from a 7 year old girl and 10 year old boy to a 40 year old Chef!

Any advice would be welcome!

Niall
www.niallmellors.com
www.myspace.com/niallmellorsdrums
I teach technique one lesson, and groove the next. I find this keeps it interesting for the student. I always use a metronome and like to work from Master Studies.

It's pretty simple really. Just allow the student to have fun. Music is supposed to be fun.

Toronto Rock

Thanks for the input.

So when you are teaching technique - what are some of the first things you address?

Can you be more specific when you refer to Master Studies?

rlrrll