Lessons or Self Taught?

ZaQ[MTG]

Everywhere i go and play shows i always get 2 or 3 people who ask me where i took lessons at...my reply...."I'm Self Taught"

thus follows gasps and weird faces...all of a sudden I'm less of a drummer cause I've never taken a lesson in my life...but have no problem keeping up with the drummers that have...

I've never liked the ideas of lessons...of course they open up many doors to proper technique and essentials...but they never were for me...

I'm not bashing lessons...I'm just saying that its more than possible to learn without them

SHOGUNWARRIOR32

The only lesson I've ever taken was watching my older brother play...i wish i would have though..still might if i find time... would still like to learn to read music and stuff... couldn't tell ya what a paradiddle was to save my life. :D

tchfunkta

ZaQ[MTG said:
":3j3e1h6n]Everywhere i go and play shows i always get 2 or 3 people who ask me where i took lessons at...my reply...."I'm Self Taught"

thus follows gasps and weird faces...all of a sudden I'm less of a drummer cause I've never taken a lesson in my life...but have no problem keeping up with the drummers that have...

I've never liked the ideas of lessons...of course they open up many doors to proper technique and essentials...but they never were for me...

I'm not bashing lessons...I'm just saying that its more than possible to learn without them

If someone gives you a chart, you won't be "keeping up with the drummers that have." Also, good technique is a lot more efficient to learn in lessons. Lessons give you a focus that keeps you honest with yourself and good teachers guide the student to learning what the student wants to learn.

king_friday

tchfunkta":181urcap said:
ZaQ[MTG said:
":181urcap]Everywhere i go and play shows i always get 2 or 3 people who ask me where i took lessons at...my reply...."I'm Self Taught"