-Less Is More-

ZaQ[MTG]

Whats up to all my brothers in the drummin world!

Long story short...

I used to be a simple jazz drummer...ive been seriously drumming for about 8 to 9 years and ill be turning 20 in september...
anyway...my jazz set up was was tiny... a kick drum...2 toms...hi hats...1 crash...1 ride and a snare...and i was happy...recently...ive evolved my jazz roots by joining a hardcore band...very much into the double bass and break downs...ive only added another crash and one other tom...i love my set up...its easy and simple and i can really work it...

However when i play shows with other hardcore and metal bands...i see drummers with countless cymbals and drums...im glad that there giving themselves more to work with but...i cant see myself with all that gear...i just love keeping to a minimal and was wondering if any of you feel the same way?

-ZaQ-

m

I totally disagree~

but this is a discussion forum and I think it's cool that we can discuss different perspectives and learn from each other.
I can see the appeal of minimal setups, and I respect the choice and preference, but it is not something I personally prefer.

arguments tend to arise when discussing big vs small kits, but I think we can have a conversation about preference without resorting to that.
I have misgivings about the phrase 'less is more,' but there's probably no point going into it except to say that I don't subscribe to that theory.

have you got some pics of your kit? Post them in the 'show your kit section' if so, we love seeing each other's gear!
welcome to DML

kylevater

ZaQ[MTG said:
":1i4aacic]Whats up to all my brothers in the drummin world!

Long story short...

I used to be a simple jazz drummer...ive been seriously drumming for about 8 to 9 years and ill be turning 20 in september...