Lefty's Playing Right-Footed Pedals

Ghost Signal

Does anyone else have this issue?

I play drums left-handed. I'm not left-handed in anything other than this. A few years ago I started a band with my friend who also plays drums and I started playing on his kit. I set everything up left-handed, except his double bass pedal which was right-footed. What I was forced to do is clamp the pedal on the drum normally, but then rotate everything else like 30 degrees. It's hard to explain...the master pedal and the bass drum would be on my right foot, the snare would be between my legs which would be back and to the left of the bass drum, and the slave pedal would be halfway underneath a rack tom in the floor tom position. After a few years like this I tried going back to playing a regular single-footed left-handed setup and now I feel like I have to twist way out of position to hit my floor tom. So now, I'm going to buy a new Iron Cobra double-pedal and I'm going with a right-footer because I think it'll be way uncomfortable to play on a left-footer. Does this make sense to anyone and does anyone have this problem?

screamkevin

That is the wierdest thing I've ever heard of in drumming, but hey, if it works for you, it works for you. I say go for it!

Howepirate

why dont u just set it up normal right handed with your hi hats really low as well as your ride on the left side...i know plenty of people that do that

Ghost Signal

Howepirate":23817un2 said:
why dont u just set it up normal right handed with your hi hats really low as well as your ride on the left side...i know plenty of people that do that