Kick Drum Skills!

foolscapfire

Hey. I've been playing drums for about 9 years now. I'm self-taught and started out playing in punk bands. Something I never learned properly(at least I believe so) was how to use my foot and leg in such a way as to deliver consistent, forecefull beats on the kick-drum no matter how fast a beat I'm playing on it. I've tried sliding my foot back and forth kind of in a bicycle pedal motion. I've tried using my leg more than my foot, I've tried using the ball of my foot more, my entire foot more, just the tips of my toes more. I can't seem to get a system going that works and my drumming is inconsitent because of it. I practice just the kick drum several times a week and just feel that it is an area that I have definitely improved on over the years, but still don't have mastered to the level that I should considering how long I've been playing. Any thoughts? Thanks!
Katie

AAXplosionnn

wat kind of pedal r u using? i reccomend DW 9000, very smooth

try wearing very thin and low profile shoes, such as converse, they work great for me and allow me to play fast and hard. When i play, its sorta a wole combination between my theigh;s for power, feet, and ANKLES for speed.