Inconvenience or handy?

Does tapping on your legs provide needed playing experience or just an annoying sound for others?

• Handy

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Bad habit

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

huijibo

Ive been playing the drums for like 5-6 years now and I still find myself tapping away on my legs...I thought it would be a starting thing but I can't seem to stop. Its especially annoying when you start to do it and dont even realise. The amount of times people shout at me is ridiculous. Anyone else get the same thing?

Anyone else find themselves doing this, even after years of playing?

Also does anyone think any benefits come from this. I think it helps a bit with timing but otherwise I dont see an upside.

So yeah fill in the poll on wether you think its an annoyance or something you should do.

Dale

huijibo":3nntmo8b said:
Ive been playing the drums for like 5-6 years now and I still find myself tapping away on my legs...I thought it would be a starting thing but I can't seem to stop. Its especially annoying when you start to do it and dont even realise. The amount of times people shout at me is ridiculous. Anyone else get the same thing?

Anyone else find themselves doing this, even after years of playing?

Also does anyone think any benefits come from this. I think it helps a bit with timing but otherwise I dont see an upside.

So yeah fill in the poll on wether you think its an annoyance or something you should do.
I have always done this. I made valuable use of it by purchasing a strap on knee practice pad so that I could practice no matter where I was. I've had three of these pads over the years. It might annoy people, but I couldn't care less. If I need to be quiet I just play press rolls.

drummaman

iv always done it and its handy but i can also see it as annoying to others because my brothers a drummer too and he does it and it really aggravates me

downshifter99