In Ear Monitors

Rockdrummer15

I've been thinking about getting some wireless in ear monitors......just wondering everyones thoughts/experiences with the Shure PSM 200's? Are they worth the $$?

Mike DeKic

I agree, its worth every penney if you have the ability to mic everything. If you dont, you just bought yourself some fancy ear-plugs. I use Shure in-ears and cant believe what I used to put my ears through. The only draw back is that if it isnt mic'ed, good luck hearing it. We mic up everything for practice and everyone uses in-ears. Probably one of, if not the best investments I've made.

m

any particular reason you want to go wireless?
I've been using the wired Shures for a few years now and I really like them.
I've tried line-mixers, when I wanted to do the mix myself, and headphone amps when taking the signal from FOH-

I used to get up from the kit to play dumbek, and never had a problem with the wired IEMs.

screamkevin

No offense, but having wireless in-ears is about as smart as having a wireless headset mic' for a drummer. You don't need it. Save the extra $$$ and get a good wired set. You'll get the same results.

Rockdrummer15

Thanks for the advice everyone.....I decided to go for a wireless system because the rest of my band is buying a package of 4 for a reduced price and just included me in the investment....so I figured I might as well use the wireless even though it seems kinda stupid since I dont really move. Now that I know it is a good investment I can feel comfortable putting my bit of cash in...thanks!

Rockula!

I have severely damaged my hearing with in ear monitors because I went straight into my mixer's headphone jack
It has been pointed out to me that I have been pumping full range signals directly into my ears
Make sure you use the unit as well as the ear buds because it compresses the signal to a healthier range

SGarrett